‘This Girl Can’ Campaign

AutoImage.aspx08/02/2015- I’m sure that many of you have heard about the ‘This Girl Can’ campaign which has very recently come into the medias spotlight after being developed by Sport England. It’s all about women up and down the country getting fit, without the fear of getting judged or criticised for doing their thing. I personally believe that the campaign is probably one of the best things to happen to women this year so far. images They’re not your friends if they stop you doing something you enjoy. When I was younger I used to take part in many sporting activities: Taekwondo, swimming, running, cricket, gymnastics, dance, you name it, I had tried it. But then when I started secondary school I slowly stopped participating in sport as it was seen as uncool and I felt judged by some of my friends who were not as fit as me. I received comments such as ‘Why are you swimming? You’re skinny enough’ and this completely put me off, should I not be exercising because I’m thin and have no interest in losing weight? But now I’m older, I ask myself why I listened to those people, I should not have let them put me down, true friends would not have judged me for doing something I enjoyed. Funnily enough, those are the people I no longer see as friends & have lost contact with them, I can’t help but wonder why I gave up something that made me happy for people who only stuck around for a few years. I shouldn’t go round blaming other people for giving up sport, it was totally my choice and I should have chose to ignore people who told me I can’t swim, I can’t run, I can’t dance because I was ‘too skinny’. Sport isn’t about losing weight (although it does help), it’s about keeping fit, staying healthy, looking after your body and being the best possible version of yourself. 12516a9e-0824-45d8-b6cd-5c033fd70200-bestSizeAvailable Sports are for everyone, don’t ever let anyone tell you that you can’t.  Don’t let other people put you off. They’re not going to be in your life for much longer if they do. When I stopped exercising I stopped having as much energy and just generally became more lazy in my day-to-day life. It definitely altered my diet, instead of craving food which was full of nutrients I found myself craving sugary foods. Whether this was linked to the lack of exercise I don’t know. But this campaign has encouraged me to start exercising more and go back to enjoying a good work out. I’ve put together an exercise timetable which I will stick to each week to help my body get back to the fitness levels it was. 20/02/2015- I have managed to stick to my timetable so far, but after staying away from exercise for so long, I am struggling. I am determined to continue. Unknown 08/03/2015- Today in Birmingham city centre I saw a group of girls, all ages and sizes dancing outside the Town Hall wearing ‘This Girl Can’ t-shirts. It gained so much attention from people walking past. This campaign is a really, really great thing. Also, I really need to get myself one of those shirts… 21/03/2015- Over a month later and I am still continuing to stick to the exercise timetable which I created. I have found myself wanting fresh fruit & veg more often and I now drink a lot more water, my energy levels have also increased. I generally feel a lot healthier. In the mornings instead of lying in bed, I find myself craving exercise and I can’t wait to get outside to get fit. It’s amazing how little time it takes to exercise and how much of an impact it makes on your body. I no longer have any excuses! I have so much thanks to give to this campaign, without it, I probably wouldn’t have been determined to exercise, it is so inspiring and I recommend that women everywhere go to their website & check out their campaign here. -> http://www.thisgirlcan.co.uk Today- So when you next find yourself about to judge someone for exercising, or see someone else laughing at someone for keeping fit think about how you would like it if someone did it to you. Spread the word about the campaign. Don’t ever let anyone stop you from doing something you love, whether it be exercise or anything else. And more importantly, don’t ever stop doing something you love for the fear of being judged. Tell yourself. This. Girl. Can.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Josette says:

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it,
    you are a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back
    later in life. I want to encourage you continue your great writing, have a nice day!

    Like

  2. G from Canada says:

    A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do believe that you should publish more about this topic,
    it might not be a taboo matter but usually people don’t discuss these issues.
    To the next! All the best!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

