How to find happiness*

Happiness-quotes-41.jpgFinding happiness in your everyday life can be a struggle for some, including myself.

It’s important for us to find happiness in our lives to sustain our mental health and to have a more positive outlook on everything, this is why I have put together a little guide full of happiness complete with tips on how I believe that you can find it…

FORGIVE AND FORGET. It’s not easy, but what’s the point in dwelling on the past? It’s the past for a reason. Forgive those involved and forget about what happened, leave it in the past. More importantly FORGIVE YOURSELF and don’t punish yourself for mistakes you made in the past -you’re only human after all… TIP: Focus on happier memories and focus on what’s happening in your life right now. Visit an old friend who you haven’t seen in a while, focus on catching up with them, create new happier memories and bad ones will start to fade.

STOP COMPLAINING. If it’s a problem, then fix it. If you can’t fix it then accept it or move on. TIP: Change your way of thinking… Practise yoga. However, you must allow yourself to vent occasionally -keeping stuff bottled up has never helped anyone. Stop judging people before you know their full story, and accept responsibility. 

“Instead of complaining that a rosebush is full of thorns, be happy that the thorn bush has roses”  -Proverb

VALUE TIME SPENT WITH LOVED ONES. Not everyone will be around until the day you die. TIP: Spend as much time with friends and family as possible, it’ll only be the time you didn’t spend with them that you’ll regret. No-one remembers the evenings they spent alone locked away in their bedrooms.

DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME. Don’t go chasing people who won’t be around in five years time, they’re not worth it!! I have first hand experience with this after losing someone who I considered to be my best friend, it all began with a few unnecessary comments on her behalf. Once I had confronted her about them, she blew up in my face saying that we were obviously not that good friends if I had to ask her about it. But then stupidly, I kept trying to fix things between us  which didn’t work as she just didn’t seem to care about the friendship and now we haven’t spoken in almost a year. These things happen but I don’t regret any of it one single bit, she was always a negative influence on my life and now I’m free from her. I can honestly say I’ve never been more happy! Yes, it was difficult but it made me realise that I didn’t need her. TIP: Let the negative influences go and don’t force anyone to stick around.

“There are two things you should never waste your time on… Thing’s that don’t matter and people that think you don’t matter”  -Linda Poindexter

LAUGH OFTEN. The average child laughs 300-500 times each day, adults only laugh on average 15 times each day. Laughter has been linked to strengthening your immune system, relieve stress, increase energy, strengthen relationships, and attract others to you. TIP: Embrace your inner child -LAUGH!

EXERCISE DAILY. Exercise has been scientifically proven to help you maintain a healthy and positive mind, it will also give you a more positive body image. TIP: Instead of driving everywhere, take a walk instead, this will give you time to clear your head and get some fresh air. Alternatively, create a workout plan, even if you only spend 20 minutes a day exercising.

TAKE ACTION. Instead of saying you’re going to do something, just do it! Be that positive change that you want to make! TIP: I’m a huge fan of lists so surprise surprise, I’m going to suggest you make a to-do list. What do you want to achieve? Write everything down and decide on a date you want to complete each thing by, put a little pressure on yourself and you’ll be surprised at the outcome. 

BE YOURSELF. I can’t tell you how to be yourself -you already know how to be. TIP: Don’t let the judgement of other define who you are or affect how you act. Who you are is NO-ONE else’s business. Be true to who you are.

“I’d rather be hated for who I am, than be loved for who I am not”  -Kurt Cobain

So they are all my little pieces of advice and tips to help you with your search for happiness. If you’re still struggling and need a little more help then look no further than this post! Below is a little something called ‘The Happiness Planner’ to help you along the way on your search for happiness. Unfortunately, I haven’t actually gotten round to purchasing one for myself just yet but as soon as I have I’m sure I will write something about it!


The Happiness Planner

I recently came across The Happiness Planner online whilst I was searching for ideas to go in my holiday gift guide and I think they would make the perfect Christmas gift for anyone, especially just before the beginning of the new year.

The Happiness Planner will help you to develop as a person and reflect on your life, making positive changes along the way. It helps you to focus on the good and be grateful for everything in your life. It helps you to organise your day as well as make sure you are doing at least one thing which will improve your happiness. They will help your to change your attitude and outlook on life for the better and help you become a more positive person by helping you to see the good in everything!

There are two different types of planners.

The 2016 planner is available in two colours, blue and pink, these will last you the whole year are great for those who want to keep it up throughout the whole year. Click on the image below to be directed to The Happiness Planner’s online store.

2016 duo-01.png

Also available are these 100 day happiness planners, which are great for starting at any random point throughout the year and would therefore make a great birthday gift. They’re available in three different colours, aqua, pink, and black -a colour for everyone!

I personally will be ordering myself a pack of three in they new year -one of each colour. I will keep one for myself and then give the other two away as gifts!

AQUAPLANNER-01.png

There are other products available but these two are the ones worth shouting about in my opinion! I hope that everything in this post has helped you, feel free to get in touch or add your own pieces of advice in the comments below.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Gemma says:

    Yeah, I enjoy these type of blog posts but they’re difficult to come across. X

    Like

  2. Gemma says:

    This helped – thanks x
    It’s always good to have a positive attitude and I always find smiling goes a long way towards making myself and others happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. katelharper says:

      I’m glad it helped you, would you like me to write more posts on similar subjects?

      Like

Leave a Reply

